Looking for new friends after college is tough…

Looking for new friends after college is tough…

Most of my friends are in grad school or in the process of becoming a student.  I’m told that grad school is all encompassing.  I know that the logical thing to do is just to leave everyone be, but I am not really sure where to turn.

Downtown or bust is a bust so far: I haven’t had much human contact in the last few weeks.  I recently moved to Princeton to be in a downtown area but that didn’t really help with the finding company situation.  I go for walks on the campus and attend events around town and at the university, alas it still all feels so formal.

I want to be able to pick up the phone and ask someone to join me for a movie or go out to eat like the good old days.  I am so grateful for the people who have driven to see me and make it a point to spend time with me.  However, the convenience of being around people on a regular day to day basis should not be just for city and non-single people.  I want to see people so I can decompress from day-to-day life.

Today my brother was kind enough to go for a walk with me in the park.  I have been home with my parents for the last few days because I just can’t seem to shake the lonlies off of me.  I want to describe the feeling I have as the “lonlies” like a cold that I can kick.  I enjoy my own company but at times I just want to have a good conversation!

Sometimes I feel like we don’t even know how to connect when it’s not work related.  I know that we can network everywhere and that we all naturally empower the people around us but for the last several nights I don’t want to go to sleep.

Night owls!!: Like somehow if I stay up all of the other nightowls awake will magically communicate with me about their days.  We would feel self expressed because the rest of the world was sleeping while we were toiling away trying to figure it all out.

I used to do this a lot.  Stay up late while everyone else was sleeping.  The night was when I could think.  The night is when I had my most brilliant thoughts and revelations.

I’m going to a conference this weekend about East Asian Popular Culture.  Maybe I will have the best time and live a youthful moment that generations above me keep boasting about.

Will report back about it next week….be well everyone and I hope you find yourself in great company because I cannot be the only one who is looking.

Leave a Reply

