We are all exactly where we are supposed to be (in a good way!)

About a year and a half ago, I was gifted the opportunity learn from a Dale Carnegie Training.  When this was first presented to me, I was not aware of the rich history and impact Dale Carnegie had on so many people.  When I was still debating if I should attend, my co-worker explained to me that her grandfather’s life was changed by this training.  The positive impact was something he still shared with his family decades later.

Grass is Greener on our Own side: At the time, I was upset that a few people in the office were attending a conference I had wanted to attend for years.  I didn’t understand why I wasn’t invited to join, even when I was willing to pay my own way.  Ironically enough, my co-worker was upset that she had to miss the leadership training that I was invited and able to go to.

When I started the training, there were a few familiar faces in the room.  Every class we voted on our favorite speaker of the day.  It took all five weeks for me to give a speech I was proud of.  I won the award for best speaker the last day along with a team member.  During my acceptance speech I felt so bonded to everyone.  We had gone through a journey that I wasn’t sure was going to move me any which way.  The bonds I formed with the people in that room still sits with me today when I don’t feel so great about the world.

Remembering myself as a leader in the world, and not just a leader in one role: Somehow, we were able to reconnect with ourselves as individuals in the world. It wasn’t just about our leadership at our jobs, but how we as people could evolve and re-energize.  Dale Carnegie wrote a book called, How To Stop Worrying and Start Living.  The concept is simple- instead of worrying take action.  Worrying doesn’t help us move forward. It is not a productive use of our time. Action is a the only way to regain control and resolve our issues.  50 cent said this in a different way to Oprah, “Pray or worry. Don’t do both”.

Winning the best speech award meant something special to me, because at the time I was really struggling with public speaking.  When my classmates awarded me with the honor of the day, I told them that they all inspired me start publicly sharing my writing.

In the last 18 months since my proclamation, I have written a novel, a song, several short stories, a tv pilot, started this blog and am finishing a non-fiction book.  Today I started writing my first musical and I have never been happier to listen to my imagination.  I had more fun writing a few scenes for the musical than I have had in a while.

I still don’t understand why certain pieces of my life aren’t clicking. But I can’t help believing that we are all exactly where we are supposed to be. Just imagine if I wasn’t in the right place at the right time with regarding the training?  In that moment, I wasn’t where I wanted to be, but something much better came along. The training opened doors in my mind and breathed confidence in me that needed to be restored.

I hope you  find ways to stop worrying and start living, because I cannot be the only one who is looking.

Leave a Reply

